Statutory Holidays in Canada

Public holidays in Canada, known as “statutory holidays”, are legislated at the federal, provincial and territorial levels. Many of these holidays are observed nationwide, but each province and territory in Canada has its own holidays as well.

Statutory holidays are New Year’s Day, Good Friday (Easter), Canada Day, Labour Day and Christmas Day, which are celebrated nationwide and are paid days off for all employees. Federal employees also get Easter Monday, Victoria Day, Thanksgiving and Boxing Day off, but non-federal employees also get these holidays off as well (however it is not required).

National and provincial statutory holidays in Canada

HolidayDay ObservedObservance
New Year’s DayJanuary 1Nationwide
Islander DayThird Monday in FebruaryPE
Family DayThird Monday in February (2nd in BC)BC, AB, SK, ON
Louis Riel DayThird Monday in FebruaryMB
St. Patrick’s DayMarch 17NL
Good FridayFriday before Easter SundayNationwide except QC
Easter MondayMonday after Easter SundayQC
St. George’s DayApril 23NL
Victoria Day
National Patriotes Day in QC
Monday preceding May 25thNationwide except NB, NS, PE, NL
National Aboriginal DayJune 21NT
Féte Nationale
St. Jean Baptiste Day
June 24QC
Discovery DayJune 24NL
Canada Day
Memorial Day in NFL
July 1Nationwide
Nunavut DayJuly 9NT
Civic HolidayFirst Monday in AugustAB, BC, SK, ON, NB, NU
Labour DayFirst Monday of SeptemberNationwide
ThanksgivingSecond Monday in OctoberNationwide except NB, NS, PE, NL
Remembrance DayNovember 11Nationwide except ON, QC, NS, NL
Christmas DayDecember 25Nationwide
Boxing DayDecember 26ON

What to read next